Legitimate Bastards Excerpt

Legitimate Bastards: A More Considered Belief

Created through the writings of at-risk youth, performed with Antaeus Shakes Alive! Program 2009

 

(ALL STAND)

EDMUND

Why

ALL

bastard?

EDMUND

wherefore

ALL

base?

HENRY

Why do I have to be the underdog.  Why must have I been born with this curse.

MARCO

I must have the land of my half brother, the love of our father should be no different for either of us.

GERMAN

I am standing up for myself.  I am jealous of my brother and deserve my part.

DAVID

I do not appreciate my father.  I do not get respect.

HENRY

I will be someone in my life.  I hate that everyone puts bastards down.

GERARDO

I don’t believe it is right that because I am a bastard and Edgar is Legitimate, he gets land, He is no better than me it’s just words that make us different when we are the same.

EDMUND

Why

ALL

bastard?

EDMUND

wherefore

ALL

base?

DAVID

What kind of word is that? Why so harsh?  I can be just like my brother.

EDMUND

When my dimensions are as well compact,
My mind as generous, and my shape as true,
As honest madam’s issue?

GERARDO

Just because I’m a bastard doesn’t mean anything

CHRISTIAN

I’m just as good I don’t deserve such a punishment.

MARCO

Why must this, reputations of bastard be mine to hold, after all am I not my father, son and therefore entitled to something?

ANTOINE

Why is my half brother so ignorant not to see we both share the same blood.  Why is my father so ignorant not to see we share the same blood.

ALL

Why brand they us

REFRAIN (ALL except the designated speaker)

Underneath the following:
With base? with baseness? bastardy? base, base?

DAVID

I do not get respect.  Due to the fact that I’m so called a bastard.

GERARDO

I said that I am upset and tired of being a bastard.

HENRY

Why must have I been born with this curse.

ANTOINE

we share the same blood.

CHRISTIAN

Why can’t I just be a son not a good or bad son.  Just a son.

ANTOINE                                                                  CHRISTIAN

It’s tragic/ to be whom they call bastard.                             /Anything but a bastard.

MARCO

Bastards need respect.

EDMUND

Why

ALL

bastard?

EDMUND

wherefore

ALL

base?

EDMUND

Who, in the lusty stealth of nature, take
More composition and fierce quality
Than doth, within a dull, stale, tired bed,
Go to the creating a whole tribe of fops,
Got ‘tween asleep and wake?

ANTOINE

I am very upset with the fact that I’m the bastard when he crept around at night to be with my mother.

EDMUND

Well, then,

GERMAN

I deserve better.

HENRY

It begins now.

GERMAN

I myself, say to the Gods, I deserve better.

EDMUND

Legitimate Edgar, I must have your land:
Our father’s love is to the bastard Edmund
As to the legitimate: fine word,–legitimate!
Well, my legitimate, if this letter speed,
And my invention thrive, Edmund the base
Shall top the legitimate. I grow; I prosper:

DAVID

Why does he get everything and I get nothing?  I’m so angry I must get the same thing as my Brother I must get that kingdom.

CHRISTIAN

I’m just as good I don’t deserve such a punishment.  Gods, stand up for me and all the other bastards for we are humans and just as capable.  Just as worthy.

HENRY

Why do I have to be the underdog.  Why must have I been born with this curse.  I’m tired of being discriminated and put down.

ANTOINE

It’s tragic to be whom they call bastard.  But I shall overcome.  I shall get all I am worth.

MARCO

Why must this, reputations of bastard be mine to hold?

GERMAN

It’s time I take my place and bring my legitimate brother down.  I deserve better.  I myself, say to /the Gods, I deserve better.  Why has thou forsaken me, why so I live in pity. I shall plan and bring my bro down for my sake and for my revenge.

MARCO

/Gods please help me out.

DAVID

/God if you’re really out there help me through this struggle.

EDMUND

Now, gods, stand up for bastards!

KEVIN

And I will be someone in life.

ALL

Now, gods, stand up for bastards!

TIM

God watch out for a bastard

Just cuz he has my father he’s the master

Nah today the fop will flee

The legit Edgar shall kneel to me

They outcast us like lepers

Or call us bastards not worthy of ears

For my father not loves me for what he says

I shall see Edgar’s body lay

(ALL SIT)

EDGAR

I heard myself proclaimed,

And by the happy hollow of a tree

Escaped the hunt………

Tell Your Story

